First Gig as a Karaoke Artist

Discussion in 'Bass Humor & Gig Stories [BG]' started by chaosMK, Jan 31, 2014.

1. chaosMK

chaosMK Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Hi-fi into an old tube amp
    I signed up for this karaoke thing at my company's conference taking place in Palm Springs because they said the desperately needed participants. Anyway, I show up and it's this massive thing. When people say karaoke I am thinking some dark little dive bar. This was like my worst nightmare, except literally magnified (like there were movie screens on each side too). The pic below is just like a small fraction of the number of people there. I am like holy crap- my first gig as a karaoke artist is going to have more people than my last two CD release shows (which packed the venues) combined.

[​IMG]

This made me more nervous about the whole thing because I am a bassist for a reason. If I thought I was an awesome (or passable) singer I'd probably have tried it by now.

These were the measures I took:

-I knew the song I was going to cover in advance so I practiced a little
    -I txted a number of friends (after seeing the scale of this thing) and explained to them that I was taking a sh*t
    -Prior to the event, after practicing for a few minutes I made a quick recording on my phone and the recording was very "poor quality" - there were a lot of pitch issues (it was 90% pitch issues... my vocal range is around 2 tones) and it sounded like me, but even worse. Like a bad answering machine message.

What I learned from this first "gig" :

-It rocks to do this type of thing with a backing band. I think their band leader was the bassist and he was a cool dude (who backed me up big time). There was obviously a lot more mojo on stage and mojo is my primary source of energy.
    -Most people don't have an ear for music like a musician does. Where I might hear an awful performance, I am pretty sure bystanders just see a person on stage and the sound of drums or something