1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

First pedal for live sound?

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Low_Ryder, Mar 6, 2014.

1. Low_Ryder

Low_Ryder

Hi TB

I am interested in getting a pedal, with the idea that it will be for live sound. Mostly jamming with some folks I play with but I do a couple small gigs a year for fun.
    I'm totally new to effects, but I have an idea that I could clean up the sound and/or make a soundman's job easier if I used some kind of pedal. Mostly what I have in mind is a compressor, but I'm not sure.

My budget is pretty small. Definitely under $200 and hopefully a lot closer to $100. But I'm not necessarily looking for a specific pedal so much as advice on the type of pedal. Can anyone help out a pedal newbie?

2. HolmeBass

HolmeBass Supporting Member

A comp is a subtle thing. Personally I like higher end comps. I can't think of one I'd use that only cost $100.

For that kind of money, I'd be thinking subtle overdrive, or on the outside, a nice used envelope filter. There should be quite a few different opinions though.

3. jumblemind

jumblemind I also answer to Bryan Supporting Member

Could you clarify what you mean by "clean up the sound"? What problem is it that you are attempting to solve?

4. wshines1892

wshines1892

Your own DI or mic would be your best bet. Most soundmen like a pre eq signal, but if you want the sound of your cab in there too you'd better bring your own mic to the gig because most soundmen won't have a capable bass mic on hand.