first time playing, right hand is a bit sore

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Yogen, Nov 3, 2012.

1. Yogen

Yogen

After months of searching and economic drawbacks, I finally got a bass (a Cort Action V - A).

I jammed for about 2 hours with some friends, and when we finished I noticed my right wrist-forearm felt a little sore and my index and middle fingers too. Is not a bothering pain or anything, but I can notice it, also my fingertips feel like I got a 1st degree burn, but I suppose it's normal.

I have to say, we played mostly, if not just, thrash metal, so there were a lot of 8th and 16th notes and in general things were fast. Luckily I've been trying to simulate bass on my right hands so I didn't have much problems or felt tired on my hand.

So here's the real question: am I doing something wrong? Or I'm just being paranoid and it's "normal" to feel this way when starting to play? I tried googling, but I couldn't find any info on this.

Thank you in advance. :bassist:
  2. ToadWarrior

ToadWarrior

It's normal.
  3. topo morto

topo morto

Yeah, soreness on the skin on your fingertips is normal. Your fingertips should harden up over a few weeks of playing - though don't overdo it, or you'll be shredding them faster than they can heal.

Be careful of any muscle pain - slight soreness when doing anything new might be expected, but if it starts becoming actual pain, or something that doesn't stop when you stop playing, you might want to check your technique.

If you want to get fast, you might consider learning to use 3 fingers on your right hand instead of two. It feels unnatural at first but in the long run should give you a speed boost.
  4. fearceol

fearceol

It is normal to have some soreness on the tips of the fingers, but any soreness or pain in the wrist/forearm is your body saying that something is wrong. You are right to try to investigate and correct it.