First time playing with drums

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Currens1, Dec 23, 2012.

1. Currens1

Currens1

Hi there,

Tomorrow afternoon will be my first public performance for the co-workers. It is a Christmas sing-song or whatever and there is a guitarist, bassist and drummer performing. This is my first time playing with a drummer and it all got set up Thursday. They provided me a set list of songs and chord sheets to practice. I told them that as a novice, I'd be keeping the basslines simple throughout. I figure it'd just be some Roots and Fifths mixed up with a few runs/licks in between. Sounds nice. The book I have talk all about "locking in with the drummer". From what I read, the drummer normally kicks on beats 1 and 3, snares on 2 on 4? So I hit note on note #1 and #3 if I'm just playing Roots and Fifths?

Oh and something else that's been mentioned here. The drummer tells me he likes to kick once and then double kick the next time because it sorta "propels" the music forward. If he double kicks, do I hit my note twice?

Also, I just have way way too much fun playing with others that I can't sit still, laugh, cannot relax and screw up all together at times. I do have Cerebral Palsy and I spose that doesn't help either. I attribute to being new at it and anything new is wickedly fun. I am OK at times, but gets all excited and tense up at times. Noone minds and they all tell me its in the name of fun but I hold myself to a high standard. Any tips anyone? 'd love to hear them! :)
  2. JackoBass

JackoBass

Always, always, always stay relaxed and allow yourself time to both mentally warm up and physically warm up. After that, play at a comfortable tempo and if things get too fast, play on the whole notes or give your drummer the death stare if he starts to take off. Or tell the drummer you're not afraid to walk over and kick his throne if he starts the song too fast or speeds up.