1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Flats vs. Rounds Conundrum

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by jetbike, Nov 8, 2012.

1. jetbike

jetbike

My take on the string dilemma as old as time:

I've been playing for about 20 years, but never really worried about string selection. After many years of really not caring (it was grunge's fault) I found Rotosound 66 rounds and stuck them on my Jazz Bass about for about a decade.

I recently made the switch to flats. I bought Roto 77's, put them on my P-bass and it was (like most people's experience) an absolute revelation.

So, here is my conundrum, I'm totally in love with the silky-smooth feel of these strings and the thump, but the higher tension of these strings isn't something I like, and a bit of zing can be nice (especially when playing with effects).

So, I'm switching back and forth between rounds and flats, love the brightness and tension of round, love the smoothness and thump of flats.

I only have my P-Bass currently (although working on it with Mrs Jetbike). Apart from buy a second bass and stick rounds on one and flats the other, what's a boy to do? Are there bright(er, I know they'll never be as bright as rounds) flatwound strings that have lower tension?

Would stainless steel be another option (not smooth though).

Any advice would be gratefully received.

Ps. Also loving the not having to change my strings with the flats. Makes saving for the Geddy Lee Jazz easier.
  2. Rockin Mike

Rockin Mike Supporting Member