1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Flatwound gauge question

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Ljorges, Jul 29, 2013.

1. Ljorges

Ljorges

So, I'd like to put flatwounds on my 60th p bass. I'm thinking about La Bella Deep Talkin' Bass Flat Wounds but I am a beginner bass player and am worried about which gauge I should pick. What gauge would you guys recommend for a beginner? This is what I found:

760FX Deep Talkin’ Flats Extra Light Gauge 039 056 077 096
    760FL Deep Talkin’ Flats Light Gauge 043, 060, 082, 104
    760FM Deep Talkin’ Flats Medium Gauge 049 069 089 109
    0760M Jamerson Flats Medium Gauge 52, 73, 95, 110

Also, are the La Bella's a solid choice?

Thanks,

Les

2. 4andnomore

4andnomore

I'd go light or extra light for now.

3. Duckwater

Duckwater

4. Ljorges

Ljorges

Pros and cons of extra light?

Les

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. nicopiano

nicopiano Supporting Member

If you like heavy rounds, I would go with medium flats.

If you like medium rounds, I would go with light flats.

(And so on...)

7. Duckwater

Duckwater

Those strings are among the most stiff and hard to play, if you're a beginner and learning new techniques you don't want something like that to hinder you.

8. Ljorges

Ljorges

I'm pretty comfortable with the gauge of the rounds that are on there now - but not sure what comes standard on it.

Les

9. Ljorges

Ljorges

Which strings? The La Bella or the extra lights?

Les

10. Duckwater

Duckwater

The Deep Talkin flats are pretty stiff for their gauge and the Jamerson set even moreso. A lighter gauge will make them a little easier to play for most people, I like heavy strings myself but it would be very hard for me to use techniques like the double-thumb on the Jamerson set.

11. Templar

Templar Supporting Member