1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

flex core preamp AND emg p/j x . p pup is way louder than j

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by carlitoswhey, Feb 3, 2014.

  1. carlitoswhey

    carlitoswhey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    The p pup on my bass has way to much power compared to the j pup.
    Can I run a flex core preamp AND emg p/j x off of one 9v? Will that reduce "headroom" or is it not even possible

    Should I just take out all foam from the p? Lower a bunch?

    Should I put in a pot to limit the p pup?

    Can I add a resistor ?

    I'm pretty low if but I have a buddy who can help me...

    Open to all suggestions because right now its not sounding great..
  2. Isotonic

    Isotonic Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 19, 2011
    Likes Received:
    0
    Hmm. The P being louder is pretty normal. It is a louder pickup. All my PJs have done that.
  3. carlitoswhey

    carlitoswhey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sure it's normal. But does it have to be?
  4. AdamR

    AdamR Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables
    How much louder ? Is it possible a wire is not connected correctly ?
  5. carlitoswhey

    carlitoswhey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    Not so far. Its connected. Any truth to not grounding emg with a ground wire to the bridge? This one is grounded
  6. AdamR

    AdamR Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables
    I didnt ground mine. Are this the quick connects or solder ones ? I kinda remember having one of my quick connects swapped and having low output on a pickup.
  7. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Likes Received:
    50
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    Ya, you shouldn't need to ground them to the bridge, but that won't make a difference in output. It's the nature of output by the bridge to be lower just because there's not as much vibration and low end energy going on back there. I no longer have a PJX set, but when I tried them, tapping on them seemed to yield similar volumes, so I think it's more a function of placement than anything.
  8. carlitoswhey

    carlitoswhey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    They are the quick connects Adam

    Thanks jimmy. That might be it. Time to carve it up
  9. carlitoswhey

    carlitoswhey Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 3, 2009
    Likes Received:
    0
    What is the reason for not needing to ground the emg?
  10. JimmyM

    JimmyM Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 11, 2005
    Likes Received:
    50
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing: Ampeg Amps, EMG Pickups
    They have their own internal ground.

Share This Page