floating thumb techniqe

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Torvus, Feb 18, 2006.

1. Torvus

Torvus

what is floating thumb techniqe & how can i do it?
  2. Sagaris

Sagaris

Floating Thumb is where you place your thumb on your plucking hand on the string below the one your playing. Or on the pickups if you're playing your lowest string. It helps to keep the lower strings you aren't playing quiet and helps you get a more consistent chug when you're playing fast.

Personally I can't get to grips with any other finger technique other than Floating Thumb.
  3. Torvus

Torvus

thanx so i must put thumb on the string below the sring on with am plucking ? and got any pictures?
  4. Sagaris

Sagaris

rtav likes this.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. rwm0268

rwm0268

I am a former Adam Nitti student and I use this technique. Let me know if you have any questions about and I'll try to assist.

Thanks,
  7. Torvus

Torvus

8. MickeyMickey

MickeyMickey

9. rwm0268

rwm0268

Hmm, perhaps you are correct. I thought the two were one in the same. The technique described on Warwick's site is very different than the movable anchor that Adam teaches. The movable anchor is really a non-anchor technique. Your plucking hand really just floats above the strings using the thumb to mute as needed. There is no pressure applied to the thumb.

This technique helped me learn to play with a lighter touch, also.

Hope this helps,
  10. MusicmanBassist

MusicmanBassist

I've ve been taught that the proper technique should mean that you do not use the pickup as an anchor point with your thumb when plucking the E and should just have it floating when playing A, D, and G you can use the string above an an anchor point. Also, pluck with your index and middle fingers alternatively at 90 degrees to the strings close to the bridge. It's hard to begin with but this makes such a difference.

What do you think?
  11. Joe Garage

Joe Garage

Which one of these techniques did Jaco use?