Flying with bass tips

Discussion in 'Orchestral Auditions [DB]' started by Matt Medlock, Aug 27, 2012.

1. Matt Medlock

Matt Medlock

Luckily, I haven't had to fly with my bass the past few years, but now I'm a bit out of date on the regulations and tricks/tips on flying with my bass in my Stevenson trunk. Any information or suggestions on airlines would be appreciated.
  2. NolanC

NolanC

I flew my bass just a few days ago (I'm an incoming freshman at Peabody). I have a Gage Featherweight case. I checked my bass in at the San Francisco International Airport through United. It cost me one hundred dollars for the oversize. Otherwise, they seemed fine. I asked them to come get me if They needed to open the case. From the looks of it they didn't need to. However, when I arrived in Baltimore, I found the case to have a large dent and several cracks in it. Fortunately, the instrument was fine and I was able to file a claim since they forgot to have me sign a waiver.
  3. BRamos

BRamos

I recommend SouthWest. $50 for overweight and oversize. After you reserve your ticket, call customer service to have them write a memo on your reservation that you are checking a double bass in a flight case. This does not guarantee anything, but it probably looks to the employee at the check-in counter like your instrument has been pre-approved to get checked. If you are going to use a lock on your case it has to be a TSA lock. United has a reputation for abusing checked instruments, although, different folks have had the opposite experience. Does the Stevenson case suspend your bass away from the sides on the case? Make sure your insurance company approves the kind of case you're using. Send them a description and clear it with them.
  4. paddensg

paddensg