1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Fodera vs other high end basses

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by lotusland9663, Dec 29, 2013.

1. lotusland9663

lotusland9663

I've been a semi-pro/amateur bassist for decades. As I near the end of my playing career I wonder what it would be like to own a really high end bass like a Fodera.

For those of you who have owned or own a Fodera and have had other high end basses , Sadowsky, Lull, AC, Kinal, Elrick, Fender Custom etc. etc. is the price difference worth it?

I'm more interested in your opinion regarding playability, sound, tonal variety, reliability - the day to day practical aspects of the instrument rather than resale value, collectibility, status or other considerations not related to a working instrument.

I've been looking at some instruments on TB. It seem I can get a used Emperor Standard or Elite 5 for under $5K. Worth it vs the Sadowsky MV5 or Kinal 5 MK21 or Fender American Standard 5 or Elrick Platinum 6 I currently own??

Thanks in advance for your input.
    Mick

2. Asher S

Asher S

I've owned Sadowsky and Fodera, and currently use Roscoe.

For me the bottom line is playability and the overall user experience, which is something you just have to experience first-hand. No words will convey that experience. Had I never played any of these makes I'd probably be obliviously content with my Fenders...

3. SRFSterling5

SRFSterling5 Gold Supporting Member