Former punkers: what did the scene mean to you?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by Bassist4Eris, Jan 26, 2014.

1. Bassist4Eris

Bassist4Eris Non Serviam Supporting Member

I am perhaps the most unlikely cheerleader for punk rock you could imagine. As a musician, I play in an instrumental fusion group on a 6-string "coffee-table" bass. As for personal style, I look a lot more like a hippie than a punker. For income, I work in a cubicle. And yet, I consider that music and that scene to be the single most important influence on me not just musically, but politically and ethically as well.

In 1986, I was a 13-year-old priveleged white suburban metal kid. A new style, thrash, was coming in to prominence, which made my former idols Iron Maiden seem commercial and tepid in comparison. My friends and I were all listening to Metallica's "Master Of Puppets", Slayer's "Reign In Blood", Anthrax' "Spreading the Disease" and Megadeth's "Peace Sells". Then one day, a friend (who's favorite band was Dio) came in to school with a tape he bought because "it looked cool". He loaned it to me, and I ended up liking it a lot more than he or any of my other friends did. The tape? "Who's Got The 10 1/2?" by Black Flag. Before long, I was listening to G.B.H., Sex Pistols, Misfits, D.R.I., Dead Kennedys, etc. This stuff was all old news by this time (late 80s), but I was literally the only punk rocker in my high school. And of course, I really knew nothing about the scene; I was a sheltered suburban kid, and most definitely a poseur.

I turned 18 and graduated high school in 1991, a year that has since become mythologized in the annals of rock history as much as 1969 or 1977. I finally got my driver's license, and, having befriended a couple of like-minded people at a guitar store, began going to shows in nearby Albany NY and trying to start my own band.