Four-string fretless semi-hollow half-build

Discussion in 'Luthier's Corner' started by ctmullins, Jul 7, 2009.

1. ctmullins

ctmullins Registered thumper Supporting Member

I'm calling this a half-build, because I'm still pretty new at this, and I consider myself too inexperienced to build a neck from scratch. So this one is going to use a Carvin four-string fretless bolt-on neck, which is actually a very nice piece in its own right.

This is actually the third iteration of this instrument. The first used a mahogany/alder/basswood solid body, but after I had it all together I was displeased with the aesthetics of the body shape, as well as the poly finish I used. The second iteration was a stillborn swamp ash attempt. Hopefully the third time's the charm!

Body is a two-inch thick one-piece slab of sapele scored from eBay, with a quarter-inch bookmatched quilted maple top. A pair of Nordstrand Big Singles, with a piezo transducer under a macassar ebony floating bridge.

I had originally intended for this to be a solid-body fretless, but since the sapele was extra-thick, and since I had the quilted maple top, and especially since so many of you have done so many nice semi-hollow instruments lately, I saw a great opportunity. This instrument is for myself, and my intent is to make a versatile fretless to replace my Yamaha RBX200F. The Nordstrands should help provide a modern sound, while the piezo (coupled with the semi-hollow construction and the Carvin neck's ebony fingerboard) will hopefully produce a reasonable approximation of an upright.

Work will be slow and sporadic, as I am juggling a job, a home life, and am nearing completion of my MGB restoration. But for now, here are a few photos.

Here is the basic body shape, with the chambering penciled on:

[​IMG]

Almost done with the chambering:

[​IMG]

The roundover is done on the back, as well as the sapele cavity cover:

[​IMG]

The quilted maple top rough-cut, with rough-cut soundhole:

[​IMG]