1. Welcome to the premier online community and classifieds for bass players!

Register a free account to post, remove lots of ads, and more!

Freddie King - Key to the Highway

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by pohare, Mar 31, 2014.

1. pohare

pohare

Mar 31, 2014
    Hey I am trying to learn Bass and was wondering if anyone could provide the bass line to Freddie King - Key to the Highway.

It seems really easy but I am just learning and can't figure it out.

You can hear the song here:https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=LCnKPh_jxjg

Thanks!!

2. As you say, it seems really easy... and it is... but the chord progression isn't what you might expect as it's not the usual I-IV-V changes, it's more of a I-V-IV. The Freddie King version you posted is great - I've not heard that before, so thanks for the heads up - but I can see how it'd cause you grief if you're new to the game.

I'd suggest starting with the 'standard' version as perpetrated by Eric Clapton here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=UwNO0BaT8hM

Just follow the changes sticking to the root notes - A (x4), E (x4), D (x8), A (x4), E (x4), A-G-F#-F-E, F-E. Rinse 'n' repeat until you know it inside out.

If you end up going to blues jams, or join a blues band, chances are that it'll be the Clapton version that gets called.

Freddie's take on it has a slightly different arrangement, and it's in a different key. It's in D but everything is tuned down half a step, so it'll come out as C# in standard tuning. The main riff is R-3-5-b7 over the changes & it keeps the walk down to the turnaround.

Pete.

3. lyla1953

lyla1953

Jul 18, 2012
    This (Big Bill Broonzy) progression shows up in Ed Friedlands Blues Bass book as well in A.
    References the tunes Stack-O-Lee and Trouble in Mind as similar.
    8 bars = A7, E7, D7, D7, A7, E7, A7-D7, E7

4. plainman

plainman

Apr 18, 2012
    Nashville, TN
    I love the Freddie King version, and that's Duck Dunn on the bass. This is how I play it: