Fret leveling and trussrod problems!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by FunkyMan, Dec 5, 2013.

1. FunkyMan

FunkyMan

Hello folks, i work as a guitar tech and i'm having this problem lately, i have some theories about what is happening but wonder if this happened to you aswell:

-The main concern is that when i do a fret leveling job, i try to first reach the most straight position possible on the neck, so the fret leveling would be less drastic (as you know), ok so i level, bevel, polish the frets, and check for straightness and everything turns out ok, but then (in some cases) no matter how straight was before, when the neck gets tension with strings on, it gets some odd shapes, humps, hills, "S" shapes (looking from bridge to nut) etc, which make them almost impossible to get a decent action, i will like to blame it to a possible bad trussrod, or bad wood, but at the end i can't finish the job and in some cases i don't charge anything to the customer because the problem wasn't solved.

I know that the next thing you can do is removing the fretboard and check if the neck needs a trussrod replacement.. so, i wonder if this is a common problem? or i'm doing something wrong in the fret leveling proces?

Suggestions would be appreciate! Thanks
  2. rfslick

rfslick

Are you running into this on more than one guitar? or just one. Maybe you have one neck that has bad wood.
    One thing you might do, is to remove the nut and lube the threads and the inside surface of the nut. That will allow it to move smoothly. It could be grabbing and twisting as you tighten and adjust it.
    That would be far less severe than removing the fretboard.
  3. Bruce Johnson

Bruce Johnson Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Professional Luthier