Fret leveling video!

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by Lazarevicmass, Feb 16, 2014.

1. Lazarevicmass

Lazarevicmass

2. Technicality

Technicality

I'm no expert, but my general impression of fret levelling is that the longer and straighter the bar you stick the sandpaper on the better.

For example see the picture here: http://www.stewmac.com/shop/Tools/Leveling/Fret_Fingerboard_Levelers.html?tab=Pictures

I really don't get the point of going to all the trouble to level the fretboard under string tension if you are only sanding a few frets at a time, as you aren't ever going to get it perfectly perfectly flat that way anyhow.

3. Turnaround

Turnaround

Media:
    Albums:
    Disclosures:
    Bass Technician, Club Bass - Toronto
    There's a good point to levelling the frets when the instrument is under string tension. But The method shown is certainly not how I would go about it.

Lifting the strings at the nut makes sense, even de-tuning a half step. But levelling the frets starts with getting the neck as flat as you can, something I didn't see in the video. Then you need a long sanding/grinding tool, preferably the length of the fingerboard, and it needs to be dead straight. Then you can precede to level the frets. Short tools will too easily allow small dips and hills to be created along the fingerboard plane, and that rather defeats the purpose.

Nor would I do the fret crowning the way it was depicted. Crowning should be done along the length of the fret with an appropriately shaped tool. The bumpy-bump method of going along the length of the fingerboard with a caul that has two ridges on it is hardly a precise way to go about it. Rather crude. And even if you managed to get the frets level in the first steps, you are likely to undo that using the suggested crowning method.

Just the ticket for someone who thinks a proper job is a rip-off.

4. Lazarevicmass

Lazarevicmass

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Major Softie