Fretless 6 string <$900

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by ZachL, Jan 6, 2013.

Best option?

1. Defret the SR

8 vote(s)
    10.3%
  2. Buy a fretless

43 vote(s)
    55.1%
  3. Buy a fretted and defret it

4 vote(s)
    5.1%
  4. Sell your friends into slavery and buy a Fodera, n00b

23 vote(s)
    29.5%
  1. ZachL

ZachL

Lately, I've been dying for a fretless. Now, I've never owned a fretless bass, so I don't exactly want to break the bank on it - just enough to get a solid, good-sounding instrument to learn the ropes on. Unfortunately for me, I've been playing 6ers exclusively for the last 3 years, and pretty much have my heart set on continuing to do so. It seems like the vast majority of fretless 6's are in the >$1200 range, which is more than I would like to spend. It seems to me I basically have 3 choices:

A) Defret my old Ibanez SR506. This is probably the cheapest option, but it was my first "real bass," and I'm kind of attached to the idea of leaving it in its current state. If defretting it is by far my best choice, I could be persuaded.

B) Buy a fretless 6. Recommendations?

or C) Buy a midlevel fretted 6 and defret it. Again, recommendations?

Thanks for any and all aid!

2. basskidd

basskidd

I'm in a pretty similar position; been playing exclusively 6 strings for about a year, but really wanna explore the world of fretless. What I decided to do is de-fret my first bass. It's a decent bass, so if I like the way it turns out I'll be able to use it regularly, but it's a 4 string, so if I'm not too thrilled with it (which I really REALLY don't expect) there won't be much love loss since I don't really play it much anymore anyway.

I guess my answer to your question: go for the de-fret. Honestly, what're the chances you won't like it?

3. alexlocurto

alexlocurto