1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Fretless Acoustic

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by jrkc, Nov 27, 2012.

1. jrkc

jrkc

I've been playing guitar for about 15 years, blues/funk/rock/jam style mostly. I recently got a Dean Fretless Acoustic bass, real cheap, but it seems like a great value for the price. I put some flatwound strings on it, and I have a fender rumble 100. My funk/slap style sounds pretty good, and I think my calling is a bass player as I've always preferred to pick with my thumb and forefinger when playing guitar, and it seems to transition nicely to the bass. However, being new to the bass, I know nothing about them really. My style sounds better on fretless, and I like playing the fretless better than a fretted. I know on guitars the pickups make a huge difference, and I made a semi-hollow body telecaster from scratch and it sounds amazing with the custom pickups I installed. Are pickups as important to bass as guitar? Would it be worth spending several hundred dollars on an upgraded bass? Also, any advice on playing technique would be nice. I have a lot of "raw talent" for the bass, just looking for tips on how to hone in my skills.
  2. Wallace320

Wallace320

First and foremost
    If you're skilled enough to start on acoustic fretless fitting your style, I'm guessing how good can you possibly be on guitar:bassist:
    Another point is that, myself, and many other over the forum, started as guitar players then had transition...