1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is now updated and should work after you upgrade. TalkBass is responsive to any screen size, so we recommend using your mobile browser for full functionality.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Fretless for 3 years, should I bother getting a fretted?

Discussion in 'Miscellaneous [BG]' started by joegrant413, Nov 16, 2012.

1. joegrant413

joegrant413

I'm thinking of buying myself for Christmas either:

- a fretted bass

- an Ableton Live upgrade

- a reasonably good MIDI keyboard

I've been playing for over 3 years. Started on a 4 string fretted Ibanez SR300, traded that after a few months for a 5 string fretless Ibanez SR35 (?? model?).

Part of me says I should get a fretted 4 string. IMHO, that could let me move even faster on the fretboard. And would give me a few more tones. Also, don't ever see myself doing a lot of slap bass, but maybe some mild slap stuff, like John Taylor. I'm thinking of a 4 string Ibanez SR500. (I tried a bunch of basses one day, and my hands just like Ibanez.)

Honestly, things are going well with me and the 5 string fretless. I play in a praise band, and it's been working out well.

The Ableton Live upgrade would be to the Standard Suite, and later to Live 9. The keyboard would be to learn more keyboards, something that's on my "bucket" list as a musician.

Hey... Black Friday is basically here. What do you think?

Cheers,
    -- Joe
  2. MJ5150

MJ5150 Terrific Twister Supporting Member

You don't need any more basses. Use the money to buy coffee.

-Mike
  3. fraublugher

fraublugher

You don't need a fretted unless you need a fretted.