Fretless: Strings?

Discussion in 'Strings [BG]' started by Torger, Dec 2, 2012.

1. Torger

Torger

Hi, Im pretty new to playing bass, so my knowledge of strings is quite limited. I bought a cheap Squier fretless J bass and just wondering what strings to use. Currently im using medium gauge roundwounds on my Ibanez, but I don't want to damage the fingerboard. I'm thinking of using flatwound chromes but I'm worried that i wont be able to get that mwaah sound.

So any suggestions on string type or gauge?:eyebrow:

2. cvsurg

cvsurg Supporting Member

Roundwounds will give you the best singing tone (mwah); I've got DR Sunbeams (.045-.105) on mine. Having said that, though, there are other factors to get the most mwah; a flat fingerboard, and a low action are mandatory. If you are doing your own setup, you actually want some buzz when you finger the strings unamplified- the buzzing is mwah; the buzzing won't be heard over an amp, unless they are way too low. You can get that tone with flatwounds, but it will be more pronounced with rounds. Also, pickup settings on the bass will affect the mwah; if you have a Jazz-type setup(two pickups), backing off the neck pickup some/completely will enhance it. By the way, if you have an ebonal fingerboard on your bass, don't worry too much about string marks; they are mostly cosmetic, and can be removed with a light sanding followed by steel wool. Have fun and enjoy!

3. Torger

Torger

So roundwound is generally a better option for that smooth tone?

4. James Hart

James Hart

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: see profile
    any metal strings of any type will eventually wear out the fingerboard in time... proper technique goes further than string type in slowing down the wear.

Set up and pickup location have more to do with mwah than string type. tapes and flats can mwah harder than stainless rounds with the right setup / touch.

my jazz style fretless with flats gets significantly more mwah than my fretless P with rounds.