Fretless

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by hernameisrio, Jan 4, 2013.

1. hernameisrio

hernameisrio

Is there a sticky for fretless n00bs that I'm not seeing?

Finally got my Squier VM Jazz. Apart from the icky sunburst finish (ask anyone on TB how I feel about sunburst finishes! :bag: ), I really like it so far. I'm new to Fender basses, passive basses, AND fretless basses, so it's a major change of pace from my Cirrus. I can't get over how good the neck feels. It's really light, it plays pretty easy right out of the box, I'm really impressed; for an Indonesian Squier, it's pretty nice! And for $200, nonetheless.

Anyway, apart from figuring out the paint job (side note: PM me if you have advice about this or know anyone in NYC who could do it for a fair price!), the next step is getting familiar with fretless technique. :D Thoughts, tips, fun bass lines to try?
  2. kirkdickinson

kirkdickinson

Hey, Welcome to Fretless. I am in the same boat with you. My regular bass is a Lightwave Saber SL-5 (fretted), a couple months ago, I built a Franken-Fender 4 string fretless from cheap parts off of ebay. Had so much fun with it that I ordered a new Michael Kelly Dragonfly 5 string fretless.

I am struggling greatly with the Dragonfly after my good beginners luck with the Franken-Fender. I know I am not getting the intonation right on, and it really bothers me. I have played with it live a few times and my wife who has excellent pitch perception, tells me that I am doing ok, but I know I am not quite nailing it. Maybe she is being too nice.

Going to keep on playing with it.

My favorite bass line to play on fretless is the Pink Panther theme, there are some slides that just never sounded right on a fretted bass.
  3. Matthew_84

Matthew_84