Fretted acoustic upright

Discussion in 'Basses [DB]' started by kidgloves2, Dec 7, 2013.

1. kidgloves2

kidgloves2

I play fretted electric bass. I have no experience with fretless and I'm not interested in it right now. I also like acoustic music, but acoustic bass "guitars" don't produce a lot of volume. So I was wondering if there is such a thing as a fretted acoustic double bass? This will be for my own compositions mostly. I'm not going to use it for classical. Think MTV unplugged rock music.

I was watching the documentary Mr. Blue Sky, with Jeff Lynne. In it there was a fretted acoustic upright in the background. I've been searching the internet for info on it and I can't find any. It doesn't have to be that one though.

2. tyb507

tyb507

There's the Rigel Acousta Bass, made here in VT. I've never tried one or heard one, though. Also there was the Regal Bassoguitar made for a couple years in the 20s (I think) in Chicago (It think). It was a huge, acoustic guitar-shaped upright bass. I owned one that had inlaid lines for every fret position, but I think they mostly had frets (maybe mine had been modified). http://www.rickredingtontheluv.com/rigel

3. T-Bird

T-Bird

Hi.

There's one huge drawback with frets on a DB, it will be a total PITA to keep/play in tune.

I do have the need ;), ability and tools to install frets on my BSO, but the ability to fine-tune (to be less out-of-tune) on the fly is so wonderful tool that I wouldn't want to give that up for anything.

Regards
    Sam

4. james condino

james condino Spruce dork Supporting Member