From complete newbie to cruise ship applicant in one year - possible?

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by Tiggar, Dec 18, 2012.

1. Tiggar

Tiggar

Hey there everybody. I've always had a deep love for everything bass guitar. I used to play a little in high school a few years ago before I picked up drums and took that to University.

Unfortunately my living conditions don't accommodate a drum set so I've decided to pick up bass once again. I have pretty basic sight reading skills (I haven't read written music for about 4-5 years, but I'm pretty sure I can pick it up quickly) and very elementary theory skills.

I have always planned on taking my drumming to the ships, but since that isn't an option anymore, I plan to head there with my bass guitar in hand. Do you think it would be possible to get a good enough grip on the instrument in a years time to start applying?

How should I start? Should I begin trying to make walking bass lines right off the bat or focus more on techniques such as slapping?
  2. hgiles

hgiles

I think reading would be the toughest part.
  3. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

Reading. Don't worry about slapping, very little call for it in the real world
    unless you are Marcus Miller or a solo artist.
    The cruise ships have adapted a band format similar to Letterman
    and Leno Late Night Show bands.
  4. wrench45us

wrench45us

I finally agreed to a cruise with the in-laws and there was one great band on board that I caught every chance I got. The bass player had just joined the band for that cruise -- the band was 2 or 3 core horn players and the rest were all recent pickups/fillins. I was greatly impressed with teh bassists ability to fit right in reading charts. Rather an inspriration to me on how I want to play and the skills I would like to have.