Funk - With a Pick!

Discussion in 'Technique [BG]' started by Misterwogan, Jan 29, 2013.

1. Misterwogan

Misterwogan

Heresy, I know. It gets worse...

I'be been playing around with my GIBSON SG BASS in a funky kind of way with a pick. The root of this, is how easily the right hand falls on the bridge of the SG and so opens up the opportunity for palm muting. I'm a guitarist of 35 years, but relatively new to bass.

I'm familiar with the dead-note technique using the left hand and have had good results with it myself. What I'm now doing is attempting to achieve the same effect by using the right palm with a pick.

I'm really happy with results so far, I've tried Chic, Good Times and Wild Cherry, Play That Funky Music and although the method is vastly different to how the originals, the effect really works for me anyway. Plus, with this method I feel that I get more control of the muting effect than I would from the traditional method.

Has anyone else done this?
  2. bkbirge

bkbirge Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: Steak n Shake
    I mute all the time with both hands, with a pick and without, it can be handy for pushing a feel.
  3. Misterwogan

Misterwogan

Without a pick and with your palm?
  4. Wookieonbass

Wookieonbass

I use palm muting quite often when I use a pick.

As a side note check out Bobby Vega. That dude has playing funk with a pick dialed in!
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Misterwogan

Misterwogan

I have - that's what started me off on this.
  7. jhuss88

jhuss88

I like doing this. People don't realize how funky you really can get with a pick. Big second on checking out Bobby Vega. Funk pick machine.
  8. Misterwogan

Misterwogan

Absolutely. What funk is doing is being percussive but with pitch. How more percussive can you be, but with a pick and a palm?
  9. sleeplessknight

sleeplessknight Supporting Member

Check out Sly and the Family Stone "I Get High On You"...
  10. Mushroo

Mushroo