Fuzz vs Distortion

Discussion in 'Effects [BG]' started by Quap, Nov 12, 2012.

1. Quap

Quap Supporting Member

I am new to effects but I want some texture to my sound for a punk band.

What's the difference if any?
  2. LSMFT6

LSMFT6 Supporting Member

Tech 21 VT Bass does it all.

Although if you're in a real punk band, how you sound/play doesn't/shouldn't matter.
  3. Dark Barn

Dark Barn Supporting Member

Here you go.
  4. Bassmike62

Bassmike62

For my own comprehnension, I always categorized dirt pedals this way:
    OD = light to medium saturation
    Distortion = medium to heavy saturation
    Fuzz = the hard stuff

So it depends how you wanna go. Myself, I don't use a lot of OD/distortion/fuzz and use a small board, so I prefer to have a versatile pedal, one that can give me all 3, hence the Digitech Bass Driver. Other options for punk ? Boss ODB-3, Ibanez PD-7, ProCo Rat and I'm probably forgetting a boatload of'em...
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. wabbit

wabbit

If you've never picked up a musical instrument and have no musical skill, you may already be overqualified to play in a punk band.
    fretless19 likes this.
  7. Crater

Crater

They're really 3 names for the same thing: clipping distortion. "Overdrive" is the most subtle and is meant to sound like an overdriven tube amplifier. Prime example: the Ibanez Tube Screamer. Typically the circuit is implemented with an op-amp chip wired for high gain, but with clipping diodes in the feedback loop.

Distortion is a harder-edged sound, meant to sound like a fully-overdriven tube amp. The ProCo RAT and Boss DS-1 are common examples of a "distortion pedal". Typically implemented with an op-amp chip, but with the clipping diodes going to ground, so it's a harder more buzzy sound than an overdrive.