G&L Fretboard question

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by MarshallNole, Feb 6, 2014.

1. MarshallNole

MarshallNole Supporting Member

I am looking into getting a US made G&L L2000 with an ebony fretboard. Most of the real life pictures I've seen of G&Ls with an ebony fretboard have no fret markers on them at 1, 3, 5, etc.

Is this standard on the ebony fretboards from G&L? The one's I saw may be some special edition (bad ass bass player?), so I'm not sure. You can google G&L L2000 Blackburst to see what I mean. There was a pic posted on these forums of an L2000 in blackburst and ebony fretboard, but it had no fretboard markers.

As a newb, I need those markers. I e-mailed G&L and never received a response.

2. Sgroh87

Sgroh87

They probably have side dots, just nothing on the board itself. That's fairly common.

3. TurkeypillSLEEP

TurkeypillSLEEP

They definitely have side dots. Removing the face dots is a custom option.

OP have you ever played a bass with no face dots? I actually find that I do not need face dots as I am always looking at the side dots when I look at the neck while playing. Plus an a bare ebony board has a classy look, but then again I am a visual minimalist.

4. MarshallNole

I;ve never played one with no face dots. As long as it has dots SOMEWHERE then I am good... I just am not familiar enough with the fretboard yet to not have the dots.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. msact

msact Gold Supporting Member

You will be lucky to get an answer from G&L. Contact a dealer and ask them. They will either know or be able to get an answer.

I have a 1981 L1K with an ebony board. It has the dots and side fret markers.

[​IMG]

7. KablesP

KablesP

I think that is a custom option because most of the ones I have seen have the fret markers, as does the one I own.

If you are going used, check out the Guitar Center used section. I found my 92 L2K on sale for 650!

8. Ender_rpm

Ender_rpm