G&L Tribute JB-2 Natural-Rosewood vs MIM Fender (Price difference is huge)

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by bradwarden, Feb 2, 2014.

1. bradwarden

bradwarden

I am looking for a jazz bass to replace my Cort B4 (I am not good with active basses).

In my Country, prices are like this:

G&L Tribute JB-2 : 600 usd
    Fender Standard Jazz Bass (MIM) : 1100 usd
    Squier Classic Vibe Jazz Bass 60s : 725 usd

With this price tags, G&L Tribute Bass looks line a no-brainer, but I would like to ask you about the hardware quality of this basses, I know there are different quality in same brand/model basses but i also heard that G&L basses have a quality stability.

Thank you for replies.

2. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

Those prices are certainly bizarre. The G & L is a great bass. Hardware is top notch. IMHO, the G&L is the best bass of the three you listed and apparently the cheapest in your country. I wouldn't hesitate to grab the JB-2.

3. bradwarden

bradwarden

Thank you for response. In Turkey, every brand but Fender is selling with a reasonable price, but the Fenders are like 3 times expensier than USA prices.

4. BulbousMoses

BulbousMoses

Interesting. The price you listed for the Fender MIM is about what you'd expect to pay for an MIA Jazz here.

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. bradwarden

bradwarden

MIA Jazz is 2060 usd. (American Standart)

Anyway, i guess the GL is the only option here.

7. SirMjac28

SirMjac28 Patiently Waiting For The Next British Invasion Gold Supporting Member

Sweet goodness $2060.00 for a MIA Jazz? I need to load up some MIA Fenders and head over there beautiful country by the way and the G&L is a great bass.

8. Makatak

Makatak

No brainer, JB-2 has Swamp Ash Boby, 6 bolt neck joint, massive saddle lock bridge, superior quality tuners with Allen key shaft lock, Satin Jass width neck, P Body , mightymite pots , high output G&l Alnico pickups, A mile away from a Mexi Jazz which every student has in their room.