Gathering thoughts and ideas on a small DC powered bass amp; DIY or otherwise.

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by beanpole, Jan 4, 2013.

1. beanpole

beanpole

Just alittle backgound so you folks know where I am coming from. I am a 60 yr. old man living in the backwoods of arkansas in a small cabin with my wife. The farm is way off the grid so we have a very basic 12 volt solar/battery powered system. I have been playing music for about 40 years and exclusively acoustic(fiddle, mandolin and guitar), until about a year ago when I bought a used squier telecaster from a pawn shop and then a cheap 12 volt amp(Synsonics) on ebay. My wife tells people I went over to the darkside. Subsequently I have acquired a Roland micro cube and mobile cube so I can do music acoustically through a mic while singing and accompany myself on electric or acoustic. I am having a ball with the electric. I play with different friends which is mostly acoustic but every once in awhile will set up a full PA somewhere on the grid and have a blow out. There is a real shortage of bass. I know I am not telling you folks but that needs to be remedied. I want to make a small rig out of an appropriate speaker hooked to a car audio player. I have also looked a the AC1 RhytymnVOX Bass on ebay which looks interesting. I just want something where I could play bass in a small setting with acoustic instruments or lightly amplified coffee house type setting. Please excuse my long winded piece here. Maybe I need to get out of the woods more often but really would appreciate any input on this from you folks. I haven't bought a bass yet but from looking through this site it shouldn't be a problem to find one that will fill my needs and meet my criteria. Hopefully more later on that. Thanks

2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    Man, if there was ever a case for playing upright. ;)

3. dincz

dincz