1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. We are currently evaluating the "One Post Per Classified Ad" policy. Thank you for all of your feedback.

    The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

    Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

GB Neo-Pak good at 2 Ohms?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Jamasaurus, Sep 11, 2007.

  1. Jamasaurus

    Jamasaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I know this has been covered in some other threads but I didn't sense that there was a definitive answer, and if it really does, why doesn't Genz Benz say it goes this low on their website? Is it safe to go this low and if so what would the estimated wattage be when operating at 2 ohms?
  2. CElton

    CElton

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    You need to send it back to Genz to have the upgrade done. The first generation did not have the ability to operate at 2 ohms.

    A killer sounding head by the way...
  3. Jamasaurus

    Jamasaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    I haven't bought one yet. Is there any marking/identification on the amp identifying that it is the second generation?
  4. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Yes, somebody here said that they put a little "2" sticker over the "4" on the minimum-ohms marking on the back panel.
  5. aproud1

    aproud1 Hit that long lunar note, and let it float. Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    Just got off the phone with them. If it's been modded it should say it can go to 2 ohms on the back panel.

    Bought one brand new and it must have been old stock. Still said 4 ohm min load. They're nice people over there. and are going to mod mine.

    andy
  6. smogg

    smogg

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    neo 3.5 puts out 500 watts @ 2 ohms
  7. Jamasaurus

    Jamasaurus

    Joined:
    Sep 10, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    So GB will perform the mod for free?
  8. aproud1

    aproud1 Hit that long lunar note, and let it float. Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 13, 2007
    Likes Received:
    0
    If you bought it new I'm sure they would. I don't if or what they'd charge. You can call them...

    480-941-0705
  9. hasbeen

    hasbeen

    Joined:
    Sep 23, 2004
    Likes Received:
    0
    Disclosures:
    Vice President, KMC Music Inc.
    you pay the shipping to us.....we pay the shipping back. We peform the mod ...no charge.

    ...about two weeks turn around.
  10. Velkov

    Velkov

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    Does Genz Benz still do the free upgrade to 2 Ohms on the Neo Pak heads? I bought mine second hand so I am at least the second owner. Does the policy still apply?

    Also, I am in Canada. Does that change anything?

    Thank you!
    Kalin
  11. searchfunction

    searchfunction

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Where did you find one NOS?
  12. Freddels

    Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    This is an old thread. That was from 2007.
  13. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    That post was in 2007!
  14. searchfunction

    searchfunction

    Joined:
    Nov 26, 2010
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sorry. I'm an idiot.
  15. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Likes Received:
    0
    Sometimes the "search function"......... :D............
  16. Freddels

    Freddels Musical Anarchist Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Apr 7, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    Nah, we've all done it. :)
  17. wave rider

    wave rider

    Joined:
    Jan 5, 2005
    Likes Received:
    0
    I did ask about this last summer, agedhorse said the upgrade parts had become too expensive to justify upgrading the Neo Pak.

    =wr=
  18. Velkov

    Velkov

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    If Genz Benz doesn't do the upgrade for free anymore would they be able to sell the parts needed so I can upgrade it myself?

    Who do I contact to try and get info on this?

    I love my Neo Pak and 2 Ohm capability would be an upgrade I would be willing to pay for if the price is reasonable.

    Thanks,
    Kalin
  19. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    Likes Received:
    0
    We no longer stock the parts necessary for the upgrade, and it is definately not a user-upgradable or even field upgradable process. They were all done in the factory. IIRC it's been over 5 years since we stopped doing the upgrades. I can't recall an inquiry for this in several years either.

  20. Velkov

    Velkov

    Joined:
    Jan 17, 2001
    Likes Received:
    0
    How risky is it to run it at 2.67 Ohms without the upgrade?

    Thanks,
    Kalin

Share This Page