GenzBenz strangeness

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by salcott, Jan 12, 2013.


  1. salcott

    salcott Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    NYC, Inwood.
    I fired up my 6.0 today, and with the inputs both at 12:00 and the master volume off, I was still getting sound. I don't remember it doing this before. I wonder if I should just use it and not worry about it, or if this is the harbinger of amp failure in the middle of a gig.
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Can't be. According to several folks here Genz Benz amps never have troubles. It is your imagination.
  3. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Okay, okay. Some models had molex connector by the master volume control that has connection trouble never/sometimes/a lot. Reseat the connector if you find one there.
  4. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    There are a couple of possible causes for this symptom. If you PM me, I'll walk you through a couple of quick troubleshooting steps and get it figured out. No worries, I will help you get this sorted out.
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Thank you for still being around agedhorse!
  7. Mastermold

    Mastermold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    May 5, 2008
    Location:
    Orange County, California
    Disclosures:
    FireMelon
    +1 million! :bassist:
  8. salcott

    salcott Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    NYC, Inwood.
    So, I opened it up, wiggled the connectors at each end of the pair leading to the MV, and that seems to have done the trick. Thanks, B-string.
  9. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Your welcome! I would still PM agedhorse as there were some models that they supply a new assembly. Under-sized connector was sighted as the root cause and the replacement prevents a return of the issue. I don't know if this applies to your model, but agedhorse does :)
  10. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    The connector was probably not fully seated in its socket. I've see a few of these and whole inconvenient is fortunately an easy fix (easier than changing a tube for example)
  11. salcott

    salcott Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 22, 2007
    Location:
    NYC, Inwood.
    Thanks, Andy.
  12. agedhorse

    agedhorse Development Engineer-Mesa, Product Support-Genz Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Feb 12, 2006
    You are most welcome.

Share This Page