Getting a Bigger/Louder Sound

Discussion in 'Jazz Technique [DB]' started by Impact Bass, Nov 6, 2012.

1. Impact Bass

Impact Bass

Hi, I am a jazz bassist trying to get a more sound out of my upright bass. I have tried raising the action which has helped a little, however it still is not loud enough. When another bassist plays my bass, he is much louder and cuts right through the ensemble. So, it is clearly a deficiency in my technique. Any tips on how to play louder and fuller would be much appreciated. Thankyou.

2. Jason Sypher

Jason Sypher

Record both of you out front and see if its volume or clarity. The best way to cut in an ensemble is to play in tune. Creating a big warm sound is made up of many different variables. Consult your teacher.

3. unbrokenchain

unbrokenchain

Try different playing positions with your right hand, maybe start at the end of the fingerboard and work your way back all the way to the middle harmonic area, different basses and strings seem to have different sweet spots as far as volume/tone compromise. Also, a lot of it is how big a contact area your right-hand fingers have with the strings. If your fingers are perpendicular to the strings (the way a bow travels), you'll be pulling the string with only your fingertip. If your fingers are more parallel (like you're pointing at the bridge), you can pull the string with most of your finger. I know there's quite a bit of debate around this, but I feel like my best volume and tone come when I use as much of my finger to play pizz as I can.

Also, sometimes it helps if there's a little space between your body and the bass, so your belly/torso isn't absorbing any vibration.

Second to what Jason Sypher said, it's easy to forget that most of the sound on the bass or cello goes straight out front, while your ear is way up top. Find an echo-ey room or record.

4. Nathan Parker

Nathan Parker