1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Getting a neck glossed.

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by PBnJBassist, Jan 1, 2013.

1. PBnJBassist

PBnJBassist

Can anyone recommend me a place/shop that can gloss up a neck for me. It's a Fender fretted 4-string neck. I've never done this before and would rather pay for a professional/experienced person to do it. Also, any idea how much someone would usually charge? I don't mind paying a fair price so as long as it's done right. Just looking for a clear gloss on the entire neck and fretboard.
  2. walterw

walterw Supportive Fender Gold Supporting Member

that's a departure!

folks are always asking about de-glossing the backs of their neck.

so it's already finished, but just not glossy? or there's no finish on it at all, it's just raw wood?

also, what's the fretboard made of? that matters, if it's rosewood or maple.
  3. C.Linton

C.Linton Supporting Member

I would like to know this too. I've always thought my Two Squier VMs would be nice with a glossy maple fretboard and neck. Not that there's anything wrong with the poly satin finish, I just like the glossy look.
  4. 96tbird

96tbird Supporter Supporting Member

Hey you an just wax it with carnuba paste wax and elbow grease and get it to shine and slippy-er ( ;) ) than poly. SurferJoe does all his and has posted some pics; awesome results.
  5. PBnJBassist

PBnJBassist