1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Getting my 1st Bass....suggestions please!

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by charley, Apr 2, 2014.

1. charley

charley

Hi,

I am a full time stage/studio musician. I have been playing guitar, banjo, and mandolin for many years, but am hoping to add my 1st bass to my toolbox.

I think I have decided to go a more classic/vintage vibe route. I had previously considered the possibility of getting a longer scale (35' plus) 5/6 string bass...figuring it could cover some serious territory and work in any situation.

I think, for now, I am going to start with something a bit more traditional. I am thinking about a 5 string Jazz Bass or 5 string P Bass. I want to get something decent quality, american made, and will probably upgrade the electronics down the line...

Can anybody tell me more about the differences between a P and a J?

It seems like the 5 string versions are not popular...why?

Thanks!!!

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

You've been on talkbass for 8 years and you don't know the difference between a jazz bass and a precision bass and you think 5 string basses are unpopular?

Assuming you're not being silly, you should go to Guitar Center and try out a Fender American Standard 5 string precision and 5 string jazz and see which you like better.

3. i_got_a_mohawk

i_got_a_mohawk

A lot of folks don't need the extra notes, it's like asking why 7 string guitars aren't more popular ;)

You could always go with a P-J setup, this gives you the P pickup in the standard position and a J in the bridge.

4. bigsnaketex

bigsnaketex Supporting Member

Unless you need the low B thing I'd highly recommend getting a regular (4 - string) Jazz or Precision bass.