1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Getting No Sound from Epiphone Accu Bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Serena27, Dec 31, 2012.

1. Serena27

Serena27

Hi everyone, this is my first time posting so I apologize in advance if this is in the wrong spot. My boyfriend bought me a used bass guitar on Kijiji for Christmas. I have never played guitar or bass guitar before (just the piano). There was no information with it, but I have determined that it is an Accu bass by Epiphone. However, when I plugged it into the amp, no sound came out.

My friend who plays guitar, came over and tested my amp and cable on his guitar, and tested my bass with his amp and cable. There is nothing wrong with my amp or cable, it is the bass.

We are considering calling the original owner for assistance, but I don't know if he will help or let us return it. Anyone have an idea of what could be wrong, and how much it would cost to fix?

Thanks so much!
    Serena

2. Stone Soup

Stone Soup

My guess would be a wire has come loose, but it could be several things. It's not possible to give an accurate answer without looking at it. Can you take the pickguard off and post clear photos of the wiring?

3. Munjibunga

Munjibunga Total Hyper-Elite Member Gold Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Independent Contractor to Bass San Diego
    First, accuracy is not the same thing as precision. Now that we've got that cleared up, it may be a dirty output jack. Try plugging it in and out a bunch of times. Some Caig Deoxit in the jack may help. If that doesn't help, then take off the pickguard and check to see that all wires are connected. Your idea to call the seller is a good one, too.

4. Serena27

Serena27