1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TalkBass iphone/android app is NOT WORKING currently. We're working on it. Tapatalk IS working, so if you need to use an app, use Tapatalk. Try using your browser though - TalkBass is now 100% responsive to your phone/tablet screen size ;)

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Getting Yourself Out There

Discussion in 'Ask the Berklee Bass Department' started by NachosNDip, Sep 26, 2013.

1. NachosNDip

NachosNDip

Hi all...
    I am studying under a Berklee graduate in Miami, FL. Just about 2 weeks ago he said "Wouldn't you like to to start getting some gigs as a working bassist?" I said, "Of course. I'd love that." He responded by telling me I was just about ready for professional electric bass gigs. (I'm not quite there on upright yet, but I'm working on it)

So I'm just curious... how did you all come about making a career out of music for yourselves? More specifically, when did you begin to notice that music became more than just something you love to do, and actually brought you revenue?

I ask because I find that the musically involved people around me look to me if they need someone to play bass, record, etc., friends and professors included, however these are not really paying gigs. I don't really play much outside the college anymore (used to when I was in original bands, but not really paid gigs) so aside from the occasional service grant they are just things I do as favors or because I enjoy playing.