GF wants to buy me a new bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by thenazz, Dec 26, 2013.

1. thenazz

thenazz

I've been playing my '76 Precision since 1983. It's the only bass I own and absolutely love everything about it, great narrow neck, low action, and nice fat round tone. My band plays soul/R&B/jazz/etc. The only other bass that vaguely holds some appeal would be a jazz, but I would still be trying to get the sound I have now. Before I tell her thanks but no thanks I wanted to get a little feedback from everyone out there in internetland. Opinions?
  2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

Price range?
  3. clmayhew

clmayhew

How about a fretless P? Or a P with a jazz pickup in the bridge position?
  4. El-Bob

El-Bob

Politely suggest that she get you a piece of gear that's more useful to you?
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. 2cooltoolz

2cooltoolz Supporting Member

She's probably trying to help you out by replacing that old "worn out" looking bass for a shiny new one. Explain to her that it takes 30 years to properly break a bass in, and you're just not up to the task.:p
  7. M.R. Ogle

M.R. Ogle Supporting Member

8. pgolliher

pgolliher

It's a trap!!! It sounds like you are a "one bass" guy. You have already found "the one". Odds are any bass she gets you will not be your main player and she will be hurt that your favorite isn't the one she gave you.
    It is the sweetest of intentions, but a no win situation.
    Do a weekend getaway instead.
  9. southpaw723

southpaw723

If you do gigs it's always nice to have a back up. Squier vintage modified stuff is cool. They have a fretless and a six string to go along with a jazz, a precision, and a jaguar.
  10. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member

So you don't want a free bass?

Are you on drugs?

:bag:
  11. Ric5

Ric5 Supporting Member