Gibson G3 Tribute Review and Pics

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by marklaforest, Jan 3, 2013.

1. marklaforest

marklaforest

Hey y'all,

I recently picked up one of the new Gibson G3 tributes. I've been playing it for about two months now, and I've logged a variety of different gigs on it. I'm a huge Fender P bass guy, but I've always had an eye out for a good deal on a G3. So when this came out I thought I'd give it a try.

The bass is well made, nothing really to gripe about there. The wood is immaculate, the finish is flawless, all joints and connections are tight. Tuners are firm but easy to use. Nut is filed perfectly. Frets are perfect. Knobs and switches all feel solid. The finish is quite thin and has a satin feel. The neck feels amazing. It's thicker than an average P-bass and rounder. The burnt maple fretboard is interesting. I'd personally rather just a regular old maple board but I'm not really all that picky about it. This may sound strange, but this bass smells amazing. I'm not sure if it's because the burnt maple or something else, but it has a chocolatey-wood smell to it that's very nice and very strong. After a night of gigging my hands smell great! It's pretty much on par with the average weight of a Fender I'd say, but I don't have a scale and I find Fenders tend to vary in weight quite a bit. It sits well on the strap, either strung low or high it balances nicely. The body is larger but thinner than a P-bass, but not by much.

I already hate the bridge. I know there's a wide variety of mixed opinions on here about Gibson's bridge design, but it makes very little sense to me and it's quite frustrating to deal with when changing strings compared to the simplicity of Fender's design. Any suggestions for an aftermarket replacement would be greatly appreciated.