Gibson SG Special Bass from Guitar Center

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Steed11, Feb 19, 2014.

1. Steed11

Steed11

Just wanted to let folks know about my experience, recently at GC. I have been GASsing for the fireburst 2014 SG bass and had almost pulled the trigger several times online, but managed to talk myself out of it. This would be my 6th bass and second Gibson SG.
    A local GC had one in stock so I went down there, figuring I could assuage my desire by just handling it. Well that didn't work. But, I said to the young fellow who was helping me, "If I buy this online I can get it tax free and free shipping, give me a reason to buy it here"...so he trots off to talk to his manager and comes back with "no if you bought it online thru Guitar Center you'd have to pay the tax" "not talking about Guitar Center" says I " check Sam Ash or AMS" off he goes again, comes back smiling " you're right, we'll match the price $699 total" cool says I "do you want a case with that?" he asks " oh no it comes with a case" I point out. Long story short I get the guitar and case for $699 ...the receipt shows $501 for the guitar and $198 for the case, which I thought was interesting...anyway I'm happy.

[​IMG]

2. Gorn Captain

Gorn Captain Supporting Member

They pulled the same thing with me when I bought my SG at GC. Told me it doesn't come with a case. I chuckled and set him straight.

Also, no pics = no bass.

3. IPA

IPA

They always do that guitar and case billing. Then sometimes, when something is on sale, they sell it... without the case? But most of the time you can't ask them to simply omit the case to save money. Strange system.

Congrats though!

4. Steed11

Steed11