Gig anymore or not,do you still keep buying basses ?

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by okc-zee, Dec 26, 2012.

1. okc-zee

okc-zee

I've been playing bass since 13 yrs. old...Just turned 60 this year...I've played,taught,and gigged professionally for many years...nowadays,I'll get to a jam here and there,and a gathering of other musician friends for a good time...I no longer have the time to do it full time,and haven't in the last few years...however,I don't think my interest and desire to acquire new or different basses will ever stop...there are a couple I own that I'll never part with,but I'm always still wanting to sell/buy something new,so I still do..matter of fact,I added 2 more the end of this year...so,I am just curious...do you think there's a time that you stop getting instruments even if you don't gig or are in a band anymore ?
  2. Rip Topaz

Rip Topaz

Disclosures:
    Beta tester for Positive Grid
    No way. GAS doesn't care if its practical.
  3. SJan3

SJan3

Nope, its like an addiction. Gotta have it!!
  4. NOVAX

NOVAX

Hail No! When I die they're going to have to dig through a pile of basses, cables and bass related accessories to get to my body. He who dies with the most basses wins.
  5. Baird6869

Baird6869 Supporting Member

No different than having a passion for collecting other items IMO.

I collect wine (ok, I likely wouldn't if I quit drinking!) but many are into watches, baseball cards, comics, etc.... If you enjoy it, why stop?

I personally have 10 basses, 3 great amps and 5 amazing cabs... If I stopped gigging, I would likely downsize a bit but I wouldn't downsize by much.
  6. JBFLA

JBFLA Roscoe FANatic Gold Supporting Member

Haven't gigged in the past two years but that doesn't mean I won't, and certainly hasn't stopped my GAS.

Next year will be my 40th year of playing, and I play/practice every day.

New stuff is a good thing...
  7. Kryptos

Kryptos