Gig Sharking: What is the etiquette?

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by AlyCat, Mar 25, 2014.

1. AlyCat

AlyCat

My question is what is the etiquette on gig sharking? More specifically, what would you do if every time you do a gig, a bandmate of yours is always obtaining venue's and festival's contact info. You may not see it happening at the gig, but then you always notice when immediately this bandmate gets their "other" band a gig on the same festival bill or venue bill as your band. I am a bassist/bandleader and am having a difficult time with this. I spend countless hours of my life playing "band manager" seeking out the right venues, working on booking, networking, and negotiating deals. This is all the while that I am writing (and co-writing) the songs with the guitarist and scheduling rehearsals, recordings and gigs. I always go to the ends of the earth for my band, taking them out to dinner, and always get gigs that pay and always offer them an equal cut. Sometimes I even cut myself out of the pay just so they can get paid. So it is more and more frequently seeming like my hardwork is paving the way for them to easily slide in their band onto everything that we are doing. It seems to me that we are doing all the work and they are piggybacking right on us, riding coattails, using us as an easy stepping stone, or whatever you want to call it.

I know that some would say that all is fair game, and I would like to hear their side. My experience on the national level was complete intolerance of this kind of thing. For example, I was touring with a national act as a back-up singer and I would witness the guitarist pulling this stuff regularly. One day she got fired on the spot for it. So I am wondering what you would do (if anything) if your bandmate is 9/10 times getting his/her band on the same gig (many times on the same venue or festival bill before the show even happens).

Thank you in advance :)

2. Twocan

Twocan Supporting Member