Gigging Bassist & His Insecurities Run Wild

Discussion in 'General Instruction [BG]' started by sleepypunk1111, Jan 28, 2014.

1. sleepypunk1111

sleepypunk1111

So here's the deal,

I've been a gigging bassist in the Chicago cover band scene for the last 5 years. Despite learning an impressive repitoire, I still feel like I'm always the weakest link musically on stage.

My knowledge of theory is very basic and never employed in my playing, all I know how to do is read tab or mimic from watching lesson videos on youtube. Because of this, learning new songs is a nightmare for me, to the point where I usually need to hire someone to spoonfeed me the material.

On top of that, I think my technique is off because my pickhand tends to hurt after 2 songs and by the end of the night, my fretting hand can't even stay in position/get around on fills.

When I'm on stage playing the songs that I do happen to know really well, I can get bold and move around a bit but I still have problem with eye contact with the audience. When I see pics of me playing it just looks like I'm super hunched over and just awkward looking. I grew up idolizing bass players like Duff McKagan, Mark Hoppus, Mike Dirnt, Jason Black, Matt Freeman, and everyone else who makes their presence known and I feel like I'm just taking up space.

My last complaint is that no matter how much money I spend on gear, I still think that I sound like crap. Whenever I try someone elses rig, it feels full of life. But mine just always sounds like a Fender Rumble 15, despite having an Ampeg SVT3 while using SX Basses with Seymor Duncans in the P position.

I just dont know what else I can do, I dont want to quit but I dont want to keep feeling like a failure.

2. Shawn Cav

Shawn Cav Guest