Given an ultimatum

Discussion in 'Band Management [BG]' started by LuckyPants, Jan 6, 2013.

1. LuckyPants

LuckyPants

I'm not sure if this is the right section for this.

About 6 months ago I was looking to join a band and in my musolist advert I emphasised the fact that I was an average bassist, quite limited in technique but with a good understanding of the instrument and a motivation level that cannot be matched.

A band got in touch and they're 3 musical geniuses who play EXACTLY the type of music that inspires me. We have 19 incredible original songs all perfected and I enjoy practice a lot. I also practice for 6 hours a day outside of band practice (which is 3/4 times a week) because I want to improve.

Last night they delivered an ultimatum, that I had to improve my technique drastically because we're going into the studio in 6 weeks and they don't want to waste money and have me not be capable of performing. My problem is that I have horrific self-esteem and as far as I'm concerned, I'm the worst bassist to pick up the godly instrument (I've been playing 9 years though). So I can't exactly practice anymore than I do and I don't think I'm going to improve in 6 weeks.

I don't want to quit a perfect band, I write amazing basslines for our style of music (their words, not mine) and I am as solid as a rock at gigs but they don't trust my recording ability and I don't think I can improve that in 6 weeks.

Should I just quit instead of holding them back?
  2. mellowinman

mellowinman Perfect for Breaking the Ice at Naughty Parties Supporting Member

Media:
    Albums:
    Dude, you have only one choice. Start believing in yourself. Ask them what are your problems? Are you letting strings ring too much? What are the exact, precise physical problems with your technique? Get in touch with a better player; record yourself playing to some songs and listen to the result; let's IDENTIFY the problems and fix them.