Gk 1001rb Into Fender Pro 810

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by BoboMcNipples, Nov 15, 2013.


  1. BoboMcNipples

    BoboMcNipples

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    .....Would it work? The gk manual says not to use cabs under 8 ohms, the fender is 4 ohms, but it handles nearly twice the amount of watts the gk puts out. I'm really new to this whole Ohm concept as many would guess, so the question rests: Could it work, and if so, how could I make it work? I got a really good deal on the 810, so I'm hoping there would be some way.
     
  2. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,905
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Per the 1001 RB manual:

    "One 4 Ohm, or two 8 Ohm cabinets on the 540W Amp."

    The 1001RB is the same, infact most all G-K amps are this way. Just plug your 810 into one of the speaker outs and level some buildings! :)
     
  3. SunnBass

    SunnBass All these blankets saved my life. Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 31, 2010
    Messages:
    1,630
    Media:
    1
    Location:
    Columbia, Mo
    Is it the 1001RB?
    Is it the 1001RB II?
    Is it the combo?
    Is it just the head?

    Anyways, B-string is correct:

    700W or 480W Amp Only:
    ΒΌ” speaker output jacks. Impedances Lower than 4 Ohms should not be
    used. Higher impedances such as 8 Ohms, 16 Ohms,
    or No Load are acceptable. One 4 Ohm, one 8 Ohm,
    or two 8 Ohm cabinets are okay. One 4 Ohm and one
    8 Ohm together is not recommended. The internal
    speakers equal an 8 Ohm load.
     
  4. BoboMcNipples

    BoboMcNipples

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    1001rb II and just the head.....So you're saying it would be fine?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,905
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Absolutely! I would be more worried about the cab than the amp head :).
     
  7. AdamR

    AdamR Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 24, 2007
    Messages:
    3,284
    Location:
    Bethel CT
    Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables, Dirtbag Clothing
    I used mine through a Ampeg 810. Be ready to blow down walls. The 1001RB is louder then my 1000watt Kilo.
     
  8. BoboMcNipples

    BoboMcNipples

    Joined:
    Jul 10, 2009
    Messages:
    30
    Why should i be worried about the cab? Should i run two 1/4 cables from the head to the cab or just one speakon?
     
  9. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Messages:
    18,895
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    One cable only, and ANY amp can blow ANY cab, more or less. Just plug in and play.
     
  10. Catbuster

    Catbuster

    Joined:
    Aug 25, 2010
    Messages:
    1,132
    Location:
    Varied places around the world
    Yeah, but just be ready to flatten a couple city blocks
     
  11. dukeisdog

    dukeisdog Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Aug 2, 2005
    Messages:
    2,680
    Location:
    Winnipeg Manitoba, Canada
    ONLY one cord from amp to cab always. He's saying it's gonna have tons of power! How's it sound?
     
  12. B-string

    B-string Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Messages:
    16,905
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Yes exactly. G-K under-rates the power output of their heads and most manufacturers over-rate the power they can take from an amp for bass use. ;)
     
  13. musicman666

    musicman666 Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Sep 11, 2011
    Messages:
    1,060
    Location:
    ca
    That's going to be a monstrous rig! I sometimes use an old 400rb with an Ampeg 810 and that kills! Wear some plugs!
     
  14. NWB

    NWB

    Joined:
    Apr 30, 2008
    Messages:
    2,774
    Location:
    Kirkland, WA
    I'd be more worried about his hearing and the structural integrity of the building in which the rig is used.;)
     

Share This Page