GK Backline 600 has power but no sound

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Danimal35, Nov 23, 2011.

1. Danimal35

Danimal35

Well, although I've been playing bass guitar for many years, I'm not at all knowledgeable when it comes to the electronic end. The other day, my GK Backline 600 started cutting out on me the other day until it stopped performing altogether. I assumed it was my battery for active pickups, but the passive bass resulted in nothing, as well.
    Anyway, the power light comes on, but that is that. This is not under warranty and I would rather not put $200 into a $300 head, eh? The local repair wizard says $95 USD plus parts to fix her, so any constructive advice would be appreciated for my doorstop...er, non-functioning bass head.
    Cheers,
    Danimal
  2. fdeck

fdeck Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    Exercise the effects loop jacks. Plug in and out of each a few times. This is an Achilles heel of virtually every bass amp ever made.

Try plugging into the effects return, thus bypassing the preamp.

Do you get anything at all out of the speaker, such as just a bit of hiss and hum? Or is it really nothing?

Have you tried different cables? A different bass? Speaker? Never assume anything.
  3. Danimal35

Danimal35

Um...well....I tested it with my old Peavey 2-10/1-18 Enclosure and it appears to be fine. However, I've just never heard of of a speaker cabinet give it up so suddenly.
    I pulled the cab apart and there doesn't seem to be any obvious burning around the input jack. The other side of the wires directly lead into the cone itself (I thought that was a bit odd).
    Was this caused by an impedence issue between the head and speaker cabinet?
    The GK at 300W has a 4 ohm minimum load.
    The Peavy is rated at 200 Max Watts/4 Ohms.
    The (non-functioning) Crate BE15 is rated at 200W maximum/8 ohms.