1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

GK MB 800 or RB 1001!?!?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Bmrj1, Jan 15, 2014.

1. Bmrj1

Bmrj1

Hey all! I need help! My Gallien Krueger backline 210 has had it's life. I've been gigging 250 days a year for 3 years now and this 11 year old amp is start to fade ( plus I need more power). I'm trying to choose between a GK MB800 or and RB1001. Which is a better option for a guy who's gigs 4-6 days a week!!

BJ

2. cableguy

cableguy Supporting Member

I would go 1001rb-II for that much use. Or even the 700RB-II if you don't need as much power. These amps are roadworthy and can be repaired if needed. The MB series is still relatively new. Don't get me wrong I want a MB series myself, but I would get one after you get an RB.

3. MrLenny1

MrLenny1 Supporting Member

Where are you working to gig that much per year?
    Are you on the road?

4. Bmrj1

Bmrj1

Ok I thought so. That makes me feel better. Thanks man!

5. Register to disable this ad
  6. will33

will33

Disclosures:
    Use of this field for any other purpose is prohibited
    I'd be partial to the 1001, assuming it's a series II. Kid tested, mother approved. A time tested design that will serve for decades to come, and can still be repaired by common amp techs if need be. It's not big or heavy either. No more than a briefcase full of crap, which old men carry around every day.

Actually, the 700 is enough for most, and gets a little more of the GK growl without destroying common bass cabs or blowing the doors off the club and not getting asked back. ;)

7. AdamR

AdamR Supporting Member

Disclosures:
    Endorsing Artist: VF Cables, Dirtbag Clothing
    Cant go wrong with either. I had both and sold the 1001RB. I like the low end roll off of the 800RB and it had more then enough power