GK MB200 plus two MBE cabs... possible?

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by Metropolis_488, May 30, 2012.


  1. Metropolis_488

    Metropolis_488

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    OK, so I have an MB200 that I pair with a 115MBE and I love it for all the right reasons (light, sounds great, etc).

    But for the occasion when I need more volume and want to add another MBE115 (obviously both cabs are 8 ohms) can I daisy-chain the MBE cabs (since there is only one output on the MB200)? I know with many cabs this is not an issue, but the MBE cabs all only have one speakon input and one 1/4" input. I am not sure if those two are wired in a way that would allow them to operate like jackplates with two 1/4" inputs, as found on most cabs.

    I was thinking speakon plugged into the first cab from the head, then 1/4 inch input from that cab to one of the inputs on the second MBE cab. Would this work? If not, then I don't think it can be done with my set up.

    RAG? If your out there...
  2. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    What you propose is fine.:)
  3. Metropolis_488

    Metropolis_488

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Have you done it that way, or you just know that it is wired to do this? Not doubting you, I just don't want to accidentally damage something... which would probably void the warranty.
  4. B-string

    B-string Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Nov 21, 2008
    Location:
    Lake Havasu City, Az USA
    Just know it is wired to do this. The speakon and 1/4" are wired in parallel on all G-K cabs, so "daisy chaining" is possible with any G-K cab.
    If you want confirmation from G-K email jason@gallien.com he may check his email sooner than rag checks here? :)
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Metropolis_488

    Metropolis_488

    Joined:
    Jun 12, 2006
    Location:
    Castle Rock, CO
    Cool, thanks B-String!
  7. Joe Louvar

    Joe Louvar

    Joined:
    Jun 6, 2011
    Location:
    Santa Rosa, CA USA
    +1. It's ok.
  8. lowendblues

    lowendblues Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 8, 2004
    Location:
    Ohio
    Theres only one speaker output on the amp right? If you have an 8 ohm cab, and the amp will run at 4 ohms,, I'd think daisy chaining 2- 8 ohm cabs would be fine.
  9. Outsider

    Outsider

    Joined:
    Jul 6, 2009
    Location:
    Cape Town, South Africa
    I have a MB200 head and a 210MBE cab. I got it in 8 ohms so that I could add another 8 ohm cab. I'm 99.9% sure that adding another cab will be fine. Hope it sounds good!
  10. basszillla

    basszillla

    Joined:
    May 20, 2009
    Location:
    Capitol City Area, MI, USA
    would that same method of chaining an additional cab work, if the 2nd cab is a 4ohm (if the first is an 8ohm) ?
  11. bongomania

    bongomania Gold Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 17, 2005
    Location:
    PDX, OR
    Disclosures:
    owner, OVNIFX and OVNILabs
    Only if your amp can handle a 2 ohm load. Most can't.
  12. RickenBoogie

    RickenBoogie

    Joined:
    Jul 22, 2007
    Location:
    Dallas, TX
    Not with the amp being discussed, and not with most other amps either.

Share This Page