Good all-around p-bass pickups!

Discussion in 'Pickups & Electronics [BG]' started by theJuice67, Dec 13, 2012.

1. theJuice67

theJuice67

Hey guys, I'm new to the forum, and I've searched for this question everywhere, but I'm having a hard time finding a definitive answer. I play guitar, and I'm somewhat new to bass, I've messed around with one before, but nothing overly serious. As a shop project, however, I've decided to build a bass guitar. I've pretty much got my whole parts list down, except for the pickups (I'm planning on routing it for p-bass p-ups). I need something that suits pretty much everything, cause I play and listen to anything really (except country, lol), stuff like the Red Hot Chili Peppers (Californication album, mainly), Pink Floyd, some Rage Against the Machine, Audioslave, some reggae, etc. From experience, I'll be playing fingerstyle, with some slap and popping thrown in for fun. I don't want to spend a whole lot either, no more than about $70. Any suggestions from you guys would be awesome! I had a couple in mind, but I cant decide what would be good for my style:
    - Golden Age P-Bass pickups from StewMac (seem like good value for the $)
    - Seymour Duncan SPB-2 Hot
    - Seymour Duncan SPB-3 Quarter Pounder
    - Dimazio Model P

Thanks in advance!
  2. bassgod0dmw

bassgod0dmw Supporting Member

That would be the Fender 62' RI. Best "best of" P bass tones. It doesn't emulate a specific model year, it just sounds good.

The SD SPB-1 and SPB-2 are in the same realm as well. The SPB-2 is would a little hotter and I find that it has more low end than the 62' RI.

Model P and Quarter Pounder are a little more specialized. I was never a fan of the QP's, but I've got a Model P in one of my P's.

Compared to the 62' RI, the Model P has a little more low end, a little more mids, and a little more high end, and can get more aggressive. It's also got adjustable pole pieces.
  3. theJuice67

theJuice67