1. Welcome to TalkBass, the Premier Bass Player Community and Information Source. We've been uniting the Low End Since 1998!

We're glad you've found us. Register a 100% Free Account to post and unlock tons of features.

Good Bass cabinet also used for guitar

Discussion in 'Amps [BG]' started by JerseyP, Apr 12, 2014.

1. JerseyP

JerseyP

Hi,

I am a drummer. I'm finally going to take the plunge and invest in some recording gear. I want to create full backing tracks to sing over. I play guitar, but this also means I'm going to need to record some bass too. I have a friend that will give me a good deal on his Guild Pilot bass. It has active pickups.

I have decided that an old Traynor YBA-1 Bass Master is what I'm looking for. The Traynor is 50W 8 ohms. I imagine I'm looking for a 112 or 212 bass cabinet that would be good for guitar and useful for bass. I'm not sure what ohm rating I should aim for the cabinet because 50w is low for bass. I'm going to use an attenuator to drive the Traynor.

I'm trying to get a collection of versatile gear that can be used for multiple purposes. I've only ever used combo amps, so I've never had to deal with this before. I'm interested in guitar tone first, and bass only for recording. I'm leaning toward an eden Ex112. If you could give me some advice I would be grateful.

2. cableguy

cableguy Supporting Member

If you're just using for recording I would just look into pedal or two. Tech 21 makes some good ones. For live I don't think you will find any cabs good for both that are in-expensive.

3. BassmanPaul

BassmanPaul Gold Supporting Member

The YBA1 is a tube amp. As such it NEEDS to connect to a cabinet that matches the impedance the amp is expecting. You need an 8Ω cabinet for an 8Ω tube amp.

Attenuator?

4. Bassmec

Bassmec

Disclosures:
    Proprietor Springvale Studios
    I would be looking for an old Altec 418 15" speaker or a JBL D or K130 15" In a decent cabinet, or make one for it.