Good program for wiring diagrams.....

Discussion in 'Off Topic [BG]' started by two fingers, Sep 25, 2013.


  1. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,212
    So, I am in a motors and controls class. I have to turn in a big binder at the end of the term that contains a lot of wiring diagrams and schematics for the things we have been studying. We are allowed to draw them by hand or use a program and print them out. I can't draw by hand well enough to pull it off.

    Multisim seems to have MOST (but not all) of what I need for the diagrams. I'm still searching through it and may possibly find everything I need.

    Are there any other programs like that where I can pretty much draw the circuit by clicking on components already in the program and print it out?
     
  2. i_got_a_mohawk

    i_got_a_mohawk

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2005
    Messages:
    17,476
    Location:
    Edinburgh & Dundee, Scotland
    Can't you import extra components into multisim?

    One of the UG labs I used to teach used multisim, though I'm sure it had everything we had required. Been a while since I've looked at it tho.
     
  3. Phalex

    Phalex Semper Gumby Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Oct 3, 2006
    Messages:
    10,427
    Location:
    G.R. MI
    Everything around here is in ACAD.
     
  4. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,212
    I don't know. Can you? I'll have to look into that.
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,212
    While I think CAD is an amazing program, it is too annoying to setup printing scale and whatnot. I need these to just be 8 1/2" X 11"
     
  7. fdeck

    fdeck Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    12,757
    Location:
    Madison WI
    Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    I use a program called LTSpice, but it is more oriented towards circuits than control systems. Still, it lets you create your own symbols. And it's free. If you only had a dozen or so symbols, it might be an option.

    Is this useful?

    http://zone.ni.com/devzone/cda/ph/p/id/39
     
  8. two fingers

    two fingers Loud Mouth Know It All Blowhard

    Joined:
    Feb 7, 2005
    Messages:
    6,212
    Both tip and link are helpful. Thanks!
     
  9. fdeck

    fdeck Supporting Member

    Joined:
    Mar 20, 2004
    Messages:
    12,757
    Location:
    Madison WI
    Disclosures:
    HPF Technology: Protecting the Pocket since 2007
    At your service! By the way, I meant: LTSpice can handle any number of custom symbols, but more than a dozen might be a PITA to create.
     

Share This Page