Gotoh 201 on a Bronco

Discussion in 'Hardware, Setup & Repair [BG]' started by ejaggers, Jan 27, 2013.


  1. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    I’m modding a Bronco, and don’t ordinarily change the bridge on my mods. But the two saddle bridge isn’t working for me because of the inherent intonation problem.

    I got a sweet deal on a Gotoh 201, which I had planned to put on my Tricked Out Squier P.
    But what would happen if I put it on my Bronco? I know the string spacing is 17mm on the pony
    and I believe the 201 is 19mm.

    I will use this SQ MM 4 saddle bridge if the 201 is a bad idea:

    http://www.guitarpartsresource.com/bridge_genuinefender.htm


    057912
     
  2. tabdog

    tabdog

    Joined:
    Feb 9, 2011
    Messages:
    1,447
    You are better off with the stock bridge than
    the wider spacing.

    Tabdog
     
  3. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Austin, TX
  4. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    Bobster, Thanks for the info. How about the action? Can you get it low enough with the 201?
     
  5. Register to disable this ad
  6. Bobster

    Bobster

    Joined:
    Mar 27, 2006
    Messages:
    1,797
    Location:
    Austin, TX
    To answer your question, yes. It can get low enough. My action is actually really good.

    But what I don't remember, is if I shimmed the neck or not. I'm pretty certain I put about a 1/2" wide strip of business card at the end of the pocket toward the bridge, I don't have a problem with shimming the neck (if it's okay from the factory, it's okay with me).

    All the best,

    Bob
     
  7. ejaggers

    ejaggers

    Joined:
    Aug 18, 2009
    Messages:
    800
    Location:
    dallas, tx
    I put the Gotoh on my Tricked Out Squier. I haven't modded it in a while. I bought a MusicMaster Replacement bridge but didn't find out it's a string through until it arrived.
    I’ve had record setbacks trying to get this project done.
     
  8. mrbell321

    mrbell321

    Joined:
    Mar 26, 2012
    Messages:
    692
    Location:
    N. Colorado
    I put a MusicMaster 4-saddle bridge on mine. Same spacing, just 4 saddles.
     

Share This Page