1. Welcome to TalkBass 2014! If you're new here, we just went through a major site upgrade. Please post all concerns and bugs to the Forum Usage Issues forum. We will be monitoring that forum. Thank you for all of your feedback.

The TB Android app is working, you may need to uninstall/reinstall. The iPhone app is still pending approval by Apple. If you haven't yet, try using your mobile browser - TalkBass is responsive to any screen size.

Please read the TalkBass 2014 FAQ for lots of great info on the new software.

Graduating to a second bass

Discussion in 'Basses [BG]' started by Haggis, Nov 29, 2013.

1. Haggis

Haggis

I've been playing bass for about three years now, on a Squier J-bass. It's going quite well, and since I'm playing in a few bands now, I thought I'd start looking around for something fancier :)

I've never really looked too much into other basses, so I'm not too knowledgeable about what I should be looking for. I'll probably look around for some second hand basses around where I live, and visit the local music stores, but some general direction and/or things to look out for could be very helpful.

Some points:
    • I'm mostly playing jazz at this point (smaller ensembles and a big band), although some excursions into light funk and reggae are common as well. Nothing heavy though, I stay far away from that.
    • I'm finding the action on my Squier is a little too hard, especially when I'm playing for a longer time. My hands aren't too big or strong, so something that plays a little easier would be nice.
    • I quite like a round, fat tone. But of course having a choice is always better :)
    • I generally play with different amps, depending on where I am and what's available. I've noticed that the Squier sounds quite nice on some amps, but sucks on others. Some versatility there would also be cool.
    EDIT: two more things: